top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecwissio.travels

Taking a Mental Health Break in 2020

This year has been quite the year. Can you believe it's been almost 6 months since this whole COVID-19 pandemic started? I remember going out to celebrate my birthday at the end of February, and just a few weeks later our whole state went into lock-down. Since then, I think I have been doing a lot of nothing. Some days I feel really bad about it, like I should be doing something more useful, but I've realized that sometimes you just need a break from everything.


Things have been pretty stressful for me so far this year, and I have been even worse than usual with responding to friends (if you're reading this and I haven't responded to you in forever, I am the worst, I know). Also, in these last few months, social media pages have been filled with Black Lives Matter content, COVID-19 news, politics, and more. This is all amazing, and I'm so glad that people are getting involved, learning, and listening. We should all continue doing what we can do spread awareness and help build a better world. With all of this happening at the same time, it can start to take a toll on people. So while it is important to keep learning and reading, it's also important to focus on your mental health every now and then. In addition, everyone is always so busy and stressed with work, kids, etc, and everything is always so rushed and fast-paced. During the lock-down, I felt like people really got to slow down and do things they hadn't previously found time for, and that needs to continue! Having good mental health is good for productivity, stress, and overall well-being. Before 2020, I relieved stress and took breaks by traveling or exploring new restaurants or local areas. I haven't been able to do any of that recently, and if you are in the same position, below are 10 things you can try (in no particular order) to take a break.


1. Start a new hobby

With a little more free time, I decided to start a bullet journal! It's been such a fun way to get back to doing something creative. It's also super time consuming to make it look cute, so it takes up a big portion of my day. I've been using it as more of a daily journal rather than a planner (because I have no plans, lol), but also it has been helping me reflect on what I've been doing every day! There were days in the last few months when I felt like I did absolutely nothing, but I went back recently and read about what I did every day during the month of May, and it was so nice to look back and remember little details that I had forgotten all about.


2. Do a home photoshoot

You already know that I like taking pictures. like all the time. And it's so easy and fun to set up a little photoshoot in your own home! You would be surprised at how many random items you have around your home that can be used as cute photo backgrounds and props. I've also been seeing people on Instagram get really creative by using mirrors outside, or using cool editing apps to create doodles and moving images.


3. Cook/bake for a picnic

This could be a new hobby as well! I have always really enjoyed cooking and baking, but I didn't really have time during these last few years in school. I feel like people's fast-paced lives have slowed down a little bit, and going on a picnic is so relaxing and fun. We spent a whole morning prepping food and went on a little picnic right outside our apartment in a little grassy area. Super simple and you can get some sun without having to go very far! If you're not into picnics, cooking and baking something new can be fun and relaxing. Do you ever pin great recipes on Pinterest and then never actually make them? lol, same. But now is your chance to try some of those out.


4. Read a new book

I haven't read in forever, honestly. I've been wanting to start reading again. There are so many amazing uplifting and educational books out there that can help for relieve stress. Sometimes when I find a really great book, I get really into the story and even forget about my problems temporarily.


5. Video chat with friends and family

I graduated this year, and just like most 2020 graduates, our ceremony was cancelled. I wasn't able to see most of my friends and classmates before we all moved away to different states for work, so I'm glad I was able to video chat with some of them! Especially for those who are still trying to stay in and social distance, it can get really lonely. Doing group video chats can be really fun, especially if you have group games that everyone can take part in together! If you are going out in person to see friends, try to practice social distancing and wear a mask!


6. See a therapist

This year has been full of surprises and all kinds of emotions. Being able to talk to someone is important, and the stigma of seeking professional help should GO AWAY because it is completely normal and real for people to talk about their problems. Unfortunately, therapy can be very expensive and may not be a reasonable option for everyone (this also needs to change). In the mean time, talking to friends and family about what you are going through is important as well and can be helpful if they provide you will a supportive environment!


7. Exercise

I am the worst at being physically active and going to the gym. For those of you who are like me, believe me that it does help to do some form of activity during the day. During the lock-down, my roommates and I tried to do at least one 15-minute workout every day, and it really made us feel so much better. Even something simple like beginner's yoga or going for a walk around the neighborhood is a good way to get your blood flowing. Going out into nature to enjoy a scenic hike is also a great option (but keep social distancing, too!)


8. Write positive things each day

Writing out or thinking about 5 things that went well, or 5 positive things that make you happy every day. Many years ago, I read about how it takes about 5 positive things to cancel out one bad thing. Of course that's not exact, bad things can't just be "cancelled out," and good things aren't going to magically fix any of your problems. But you remember the bad things that happen to you a lot more clearly than the good things because they tend to make a bigger impact on you, so being surrounded by positive thoughts and a positive mindset can definitely help in the long-term.


9. Make an activity jar

Make a list of fun activities that you're interested in doing. Write each activity on a piece of folded paper, and put it in a jar. Whenever you need a mental health break, do something from the jar! It can be something simple like taking a nap, or something bigger like building a movie fort at home or going out to a park.


10. Start gardening

I have heard that gardening is super relaxing, and I have noticed that a lot of people have started to get into plants ever since the lock-down started a few months ago. Honestly, this has been the one thing on this list that I can't get into because I hate bugs, but I would still totally recommend it LOL.


The list of things to improve mental health could go on forever (painting, social media breaks, etc.), but these are some major things that I've found to help me, especially this year. I'd love to hear about ways that you take breaks, too! Remember to always try and seek help when you need it, and you can reach out to me as well!



Suicide hotline: 1-800-273-8255

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page